Block orders and replace images

Block orders and replace images

Photo Portal offers you several ways to control your customers’ orders. Orders can either be automatically transferred to our system or you can manually release them.

If you do not change the images before ordering, the original resolution you uploaded will be used for production. Alternatively, you have two options for blocking your orders. You can exchange the images for high-resolution images before ordering, or you can manually approve each order without exchanging the images. You can even combine both options.

Photo Portal gives you the flexibility to control your orders the way you want and ensure you get the best results.

Replace images before ordering

With this option you can save time in editing your photos and space in uploading files. It allows you to upload your images unedited and in low resolution as a preview. Once the order has been created, you can upload the final images edited and in high quality before approving the order. You can find this option in the Sales settings of the gallery of your choice.

Options and information within a gallery

You need to activate the Replace images before ordering option. This way you will receive a notification to change the image when an order is created. Once activated, you must click on Save.

Gallery sales settings

When a customer completes a purchase from this gallery, you will receive an email notifying you of the order. To process it, you can click on the link provided or login to Photo Portal and go to the Order management within the Sales.

Order management panel

Here you will find the order that your client has made with the status Waiting for production image. If you click on it, you will see all the details of the order.

Order waiting for production image

This is where you will need to upload the edited, high-quality files for printing. In case you don’t have them retouched yet, you can download the CSV file which contains the filenames of the photos. You will need to copy and paste it into the software you have chosen to retouch the photos, such as Lightroom. Note that in the case of Lightroom, you must enter the file names separated by comma in the filter box. Like this example: wedding_01.jpg, wedding_04.jpg, wedding_02.jpg, wedding_05.jpg, wedding_03.jpg. This will only open the images that your client has selected, saving you a lot of time searching for the files.

Using filters in Lightroom

If you have already retouched them, all you need to do is upload them. You can upload them one at a time by clicking Upload Image in each one of them. Please note that you must always replace the original image with another image that maintains the original aspect ratio.
If Allow image editing/cropping is activated in the Sales settings, it won’t be possible to swap the image with the edited crop made by the customer, as this may result in errors.

In case your final files to be uploaded have the same name as the files to be replaced, you can upload them all at once by clicking on Mass upload all images.

Mass upload all images button

Once uploaded, the status of the images will change accordingly.

Order with uploaded images

Click the Edit tool to see a comparison of the original image and the uploaded image.

Cropped photo

To complete the order, all you need to do is click on Release order to production. When you return to the Order management, you will see that the status of the order has been updated.

Order released for production

Manually release orders

If the images uploaded to all your galleries are the final, retouched, high quality files and you want to manually approve each order, you can easily activate this option as well. All you need to do is go to your Sales and bill settings within the Sales and activate the Manually release orders option.

Sales and bill settings panel

Once activated, all orders placed by your clients will need to be manually approved by you in the Order management before going into production.